List Of Parliament Of Different Countries Of The World

In the GK section of almost every competitive exam in India some questions are asked regarding the parliaments of different countries.   Like India has lok shaba and rajya sabha as the two houses of our parliament  other countries too have different houses in their parliament. Parliament simply refer to a democratic government’s legislature. It is the body of the people who discuss matters of state and makes laws for the state. Generally, a parliament has three functions: representation, legislation and parliamentary control.

List of Parliaments of different countries of the world




Afghanistan Shora
Albania People’s Assembly
Algeria National People’s Assembly
Andorra General Council
Angola National People’s Assembly
Argentina National Congress
Australia Federal Parliament
Austria National Assembly
Azerbaijan Melli Majlis
Bahamas General Assembly
Bahrain Consultative Council
Bangladesh Jatia Parliament
Belize National Assembly
Bhutan Tsogdu
Bolivia National Congress
Botswana National Assembly
Brazil National Congress
Britain Parliment (House Of Common’s And House Of Lords)
Brunei National Assembly
Bulgaria Narodno Subranie
Cambodia National Assembly
Canada Parliament
China National People’s Assembly
Colombia Congress
Comoros Legislative Council And Senate
Congo Democratic Rep. Of National Legislative Council
Costa Rice Legislative Council And Senate
Crotia Sabor
Cuba National Assembly Of People’s Power
Denmark Folketing
East Timor Constituent Assembly
Ecuador National Congress
Egypt People’s Assembly
El Salvador Legislative Assembly
Ethiopia Federal Council And House Of Representative
Fiji Islands Senate & House Of Representative
Finland Eduskusta (Parliament)
France National Assembly
Germany Bundestag (Lower House) And Bundesrat (Upper House)
Great Britain Parliament
Greece Chamber Of Deputies
Guyana National Assembly
Hungary National Assembly
Iceland Althing
India Sansad
Indonesia People’s Consultative Assembly
Iran Majlis
Iraq National Assembly
Ireland Oireachtas
Israel The Knesset
Italy Chamber Of Deputies And Senate
Japan Diet
Jordan National Assembly
Korea(North) Supreme People’s Assembly
Korea(South) National Assembly
Kuwait National Assembly
Labanon National Assembly
Laos People’s Supreme Assembly
Lativa Saeima
Lesotho National Assembly And Senate
Libya General People’s Congress
Lithuania Seimas
Luxembourg Chamber Of Deputies
Madagascar National People’s Assembly
Magnolia Khural
Malaysia Majilis
Maldives Majilis
Mongolia Great People’s Khural
Montenegro Federal Assembly
Mozambique People’s Assembly
Myanmar Pyithu Hluttaw
Nepal Rashtriya Panchayat
Netherlands States General (Staten-General)
New Zealand Parliament (House Of Representative)
Norway Storting
Oman Monarchy
Pakistan National Assembly & Senate
Papua New Guinea National Parliament
Paraguay Senate & Chamber Of Deputies
Philippines The Congress
Poland Sejm
Romania Great National Assembly
Russia Duma & Federal Council
Saudi Arabia Majlis Al Shura
South Africa Parliament
Spain Crotes
Taiwan Yuan
Turkey Grand National Assembly
USA Congress
Uzbekistan Oliy Majlis
Vietnam National Assembly
Zambia National Assembly

list of parliaments of different countries of the world

The name of the parliament of Russian Federation is the Federal Assembly of Russia. The lower house is called Duma.

United Kingdom, Parliament consists of the House of Commons, the House of Lords, and the Monarch. The House of Commons is composed of 650 members who are directly elected by British citizens to represent single-member constituencies.

United States of America(USA) has combined federal parliament called the congress. It consist of two houses the lower house is called the house of representatives while the upper house is called the senate.

I am a Blogger from Bhopal, co-founder of gkforexam.

Share This Post

Related Articles


  1. todotunez says:

    It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button!
    I’d certainly donate to this superb blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed
    to my Google account. I look forward to brand
    new updates and will share this blog with my Facebook group.
    Talk soon!

© 2016 GK for Exams. All rights reserved. Site Admin · Entries RSS · Comments RSS
Powered by WordPress · Designed by Theme Junkie
Read previous post:
The United Nations General Assembly

The United Nations General Assembly (UNGA) is one of the Six Principal Organs of the United Nations and the only...